The Baptism of Fire

Posted: October 31, 2011 in Blog
Tags: , , , , ,

Another shot whistles past keeper Hellier (pic, Emma Fish)

For many, stepping onto the field for your first game is a daunting feeling, none more so than me. However, when you then put into context, my first game for the Bournemouth Lacrosse team was against the best team in our league – Exeter – who are full of imported players from the States, a long with the small fact that it was my first ever game of Lacrosse, as well as the fact I was playing in goal where I had never even trained to play before until two minutes before face-off – then you start to realise why – in Shakespeare’s terms, I shit my pants. Oh wait he didn’t say that actually…

Anyway, in those two minutes before kick-off I was told just stay on my line and step out to the ball as it comes towards me. I nodded back but in my mind I was thinking, ‘Screw that captain, if a ball is getting flung at 90mph at me whilst I’m wearing this helmet and gloves that have come straight from the 80’s, then there is only one way I’m stepping and it isn’t towards it!’

However, something amazing happened as the whistle went and I looked at my goal which had ‘Rage Cage’ emblazoned on it. This lame,

Big check by Exeter (pic, E.Fish)

shy Cornish boy suddenly transformed into the Chuck Norris of Lacrosse, the ‘Rage Cage’ was my cage, taking hits, going for saves that I would never have even dreamt of going for – well this is what I was seeing anyway. To everyone else I was a hopeless wannabe, stood there flailing aimlessly at the ball, sometimes making lucky saves because of a slip and looking more like Massimo Taibi than Chuck Norris.

In the end we lost 10-1, but for us to score a goal was impressive enough, let alone the incredible effort and durability of our newly formed team. For those of you who don’t know a lot about Lacrosse (like me), losing by 9 to a far superior team is no demolition as we were told the day after. Our coach has seen his side crushed by 30 goals before, plus I’m still adamant that it was 9-1, no way did I concede 10!!!

There was one win on the day for us too, although typically of the lads it was in the bar after the game, as me and Joe, as MVP and D**k of the day respectively, destroyed their picks in dirty pint race! Epic end to a great day.

Leave a Reply

